Psychiatry Residency Overview

The program springs from a highly successful merger between the departments of psychiatry at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and the largest medical facility in the USAF, Wilford Hall Medical Center. These two medical centers have been closely associated since the early 1960's, and this collaboration has been formalized into one residency training program since 1997.

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA)

The UTHSCSA Department of Psychiatry and its affiliated institutions offer fully accredited residency and fellowship programs well known for research and quality education. Affiliations with the Audie Murphy Veterans Administration Center, the University Hospital System, and multiple other hospitals and clinics in the city offer a wide variety of staff and patient care experiences. A detailed description of the Department and the staff within it can be found on the web at http:\\ As a major department in one of the young and vibrant medical centers in the country, the Psychiatry Department highly values its youthful flexibility. Opportunities abound to study cross-cultural psychiatry and adaptation in the Hispanic population of South Texas. Research opportunities are individually designed for residents. Fellowships are available in child and adolescent psychiatry, psychopharmacology research, geriatric psychiatry, and forensic psychiatry. Faculty members, representing the gamut of psychiatric specialties, offer the housestaff unusually well balanced training opportunities. In the course of the four-year program, residents gain exposure to all contemporary theories of mental illness and practice in all current treatment methods. Clinical work is varied and supervised. The Department retains a diverse faculty. Among the approximately 90 faculty members are individuals with expertise in a variety of areas, including (but not limited to) the following: